ILSA Announce New Album, ‘Corpse Fortress’

Horror-obsessed, underground cult sextet ILSA weave together tales of depravity and devil worship on their Relapse Records debut Corpse Fortress. Recorded by Kevin Bernsten (Full of Hell, Code Orange, Magrudergrind, Integrity) in Baltimore, MD at Developing Nations, Corpse Fortress is nine tracks forged in filth with dense layers of emotionally draining sludge, murky, primordial doom and feedback-laden, crusty death metal. Corpse Fortress is easily the rawest, most abhorrent and nasty album in ILSA’s 10-year career and the perfect soundtrack for the initiated miscreants of this rapidly dying orb.

Formed in 2008 in Washington, D.C., ILSA has wasted no time in spreading its unique brand of cloying, compelling death/doom throughout the underground and beyond. Ever since the release of their debut full-length The Maggots Are Hungry (Odium Generis Humani)ILSA has lived and breathed a raw musical lifestyle, producing nearly one effort every year, including three additional full-length LPs and three splits with like-minded extreme metal comrades CoffinsSeven Sisters of Sleep, and Hooded Menace. Each release features the detailed black & white artwork of drummer Joshy Brettell, former drummer of the legendary hardcore act Integrity. After the May 2015 release of the band’s fourth album, The Felon’s Claw (A389 Recordings), ILSA signed to Relapse Records for their impending fifth album.

ILSA’s new album Corpse Fortress is due out March 2nd, 2018 on CD/LP/DLX. Physical packages are available via and digital downloads via all retail outlets.

Matt Darcy

Matt started in 2006 as a way to better promote the concerts he was organizing turn digital magazine. He is a photographer, beer nerd, and a mini golf enthusiast. Instagram: @bananamasher | Website

darcy has 242 posts and counting.See all posts by darcy